Pricking a balloon

“I distrust those people who know so well what God wants them to do, because I notice it always coincides with their own desires.” – Susan B. Anthony

Susan B. Anthony

*   *   *

Anthony’s acerbic quip certainly points toward a long list of culprits. But there is a much shorter – and more instructive – list of those who were faithful to what God required of them, including some of her Quaker ancestors; usually these tasks required self-sacrifice and great humility, as well. Maybe one of the measures of determining what God wants you do involves how much the call seems to oppose your own ambitions and desires. An inverse relationship, if you will.

A peanut, after all, is hardly glamorous and is definitely lowly – did anyone but George Washington Carver hear it responding to his prayer? And just look at what happened.

2 thoughts on “Pricking a balloon”

  1. “I distrust those people who know so well what God wants them to do, because I notice it always coincides with their own desires.” – Susan B. Anthony

    I distrust what God wants me to do because I notice He very often gets it so so wrong.

    Maybe I’ll see you at the meeting house in Dover sometime. I go there occasionally. i really enjoy it when I attend.

    Emerson said “I like the church before the sermon.” Me, too.

    1. There’s a Jewish strand of reading Scripture that continually asks whether God might have it wrong, or if much of it has been in the interpretations we have. What if Joseph had interpreted the dreams differently, for instance.
      I’ll be touching on that in my Daybook on my related blog, “As Light Is Sown.”
      Look forward to meeting a fellow blogger! And Happy New Year …

Leave a Reply

