Big Inca

To: The Boss

From: Bill

Date: August 8

My roomies have a summer job moving barrels of toxic chemicals from one end of an old warehouse to the other. They come home smiling, turn on the stereo, pass a pipe, and cook vegetarian. Thor gets laid every night, always a different woman and always beautiful. Goat-man’s almost as lucky. Not so, me.

I don’t understand why you have me working the hours you do. I’ve never been an early-riser. Still, if you insist I be at my office before the birds rise, I’m there for your latest directive. Maybe I should note that my Nordic roomies will both be seniors this fall. Thor’s leaning toward business administration, in a practical sort of way, while Goat-man’s more of an artist who seems to love building – sculpture, geometry, wires. For now, they mostly like to party.

~*~

The full Big Inca versus a New Pony Express Rider novel is yours at Thistle/Flinch editions.

Leave a Reply

