Big Inca

To: The Boss

From: Bill

Date: July 11 

Last time I was over at Mercedes’, I finally asked about a glass of stale beer in a corner of the living room. Then I noticed it also had a piece of bread and a number of pieces of bright colored glass. She laughed and told me it was an offering to Pachamama.

“Pacha who?” I asked.

Pachamama, she repeated. “The life force of the natural world. A Mother Earth. You have to thank her when you plant crops or put a new roof on. Any time you start something, you make an offering. She’s honored everywhere in the Andes.”

What am I supposed to make of this?

The next night I went over to Mona’s. That’s when Paul’s sister, Corky, came to town, I walked in and said, “Hi, Corky, how you been?”

She thought I was merely some really cool guy … just couldn’t believe I was the same guy she had known in high school. Me, her former boyfriend’s best friend in high school. The clean-cut kid now heavily bearded, with long hair parted down the middle. The sage. “Is that really you? Naw, that can’t really be you,” she kept saying. She had grown even more lovely, in a stocky sort of way.

Thanks for hiring Nvr. She phoned to say she should be arriving any day now.

Should I make an offering to Pachamama for Nvr’s new enterprises?

~*~

For the full story, click here: BIG INCA

Leave a Reply

